auto loading lisp

Moderator: Carlson Support

auto loading lisp

Postby bftsurveying » Tue Oct 26, 2010 5:34 pm

I have tried all the usual, that I know, to get a lisp file to load automatically at startup. I have named it ICAD.lsp and put it in the LSP directory as well as in several others. Also, if I load another drawing, I have to reload the lisp file. Does anyone know how to get around this?
Thanks
bftsurveying
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Oct 26, 2010 5:22 pm
Location: Beaufort, SC

Postby gskelhorn » Wed Oct 27, 2010 12:05 am

Create an ICAD.LSP in:

%APPDATA%\Carlson Software\Carlson2010\ICAD\SUP

That should load for each drawing.
gskelhorn
 
Posts: 197
Joined: Tue Nov 03, 2009 12:56 am

icad.lsp

Postby bftsurveying » Wed Oct 27, 2010 1:08 pm

Tried and failed
bftsurveying
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Oct 26, 2010 5:22 pm
Location: Beaufort, SC

icad.lsp

Postby bftsurveying » Wed Oct 27, 2010 1:12 pm

Just as a follow up note: I can manually load it in the drawing (load "icad") and everything is fine until I open another drawing.
Thanks
bftsurveying
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Oct 26, 2010 5:22 pm
Location: Beaufort, SC

Postby Dent Cermak » Wed Oct 27, 2010 2:21 pm

It does not open in new drawings because the autoload function is not working.
I am not familiar with Intellicad, but I have done this in AutoCad and the process should be the same.
Now you say you have created a folder under "Support" as instructed, called Icad.lsp? What is in that folder?
It appears that you may have a name collision going on here. Try renaming your custon lisp routine to "icad2.lsp". Then open the icad.lsp foulder and type in (load "icad2").
Dent Cermak
 
Posts: 486
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2008 6:54 pm
Location: Clinton, MS

Postby bftsurveying » Wed Oct 27, 2010 3:32 pm

Yes, I put the icad.lsp file in the \SUP folder.There is a lot of stuff in that folder (menu files, drawing templetes, block drawings, etc).

I tried changing the name to icad2.lsp and loading it in a new icad.lsp file with no luck.

To add to the confusion - If I load an existing drawing through the startup wizard, it will autoload icad.lsp. But, if I open another drawing it will discard it. If I exit the startup wizard, it will not autoload icad.lsp.
bftsurveying
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Oct 26, 2010 5:22 pm
Location: Beaufort, SC

Postby Dent Cermak » Wed Oct 27, 2010 4:12 pm

In Intellicad is there a file called icaddoc.lsp?
I am totally confused about your icad.lsp lisp file. Is that a custom file? What is in that file?
In AutoCad, I have an acad.lsp file that contains the load commands for all of the lisp routines that I want to load on startup, ie (Load"chgobliq"), etc. If your icad.lsp file is some custom routine that you have written, then the first thing you need to do is rename it. If icad.lsp is a blank file that you have created to do the autolaod stuff, fine, you have completed Step 1, now you need to go to Step 2.
Straighten me out here. What is your icad.lsp file and what is it supposed to do?
Dent Cermak
 
Posts: 486
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2008 6:54 pm
Location: Clinton, MS

icad.lsp

Postby bftsurveying » Wed Oct 27, 2010 5:31 pm

Icad.lsp is the exact same thing as Acad.lsp. It is suppose to autoload at startup. It contains several commands to load other lisp routines.
bftsurveying
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Oct 26, 2010 5:22 pm
Location: Beaufort, SC

Postby Dent Cermak » Wed Oct 27, 2010 5:46 pm

OK, so now it appears the only thing to check is that those load commands are properly entered?

(LOAD "XXX.LSP")
(LOAD "YYY.LSP")
(LOAD "ZZZ.LSP"), etc.
with all of the apostrphies and quote marks and so forth?

The only other thing I can think of is to maybe copy acad.lsp off another computer and add your load commands and rename it and see if it runs. (Check to be sure that it does not call up other lisp routines (acad2007doc.lsp) that are not in your Intellicad version. That's why I asked if there is an Icad2010doc.lsp file on your computer.)
Dent Cermak
 
Posts: 486
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2008 6:54 pm
Location: Clinton, MS

Postby bftsurveying » Wed Oct 27, 2010 5:57 pm

I have checked it out and it loads and runs fine if I do it at the command prompt in a drawing: (load "icad"). It will not load automatically at startup, like it should.
bftsurveying
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Oct 26, 2010 5:22 pm
Location: Beaufort, SC

Postby Dent Cermak » Wed Oct 27, 2010 6:07 pm

Grasping at straws here, have you rebooted your computer since you added icad.lsp?
(I had this same problem way back when with AutoCad and I cannot remember what I did to fix it.)
Dent Cermak
 
Posts: 486
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2008 6:54 pm
Location: Clinton, MS

Postby bftsurveying » Wed Oct 27, 2010 6:21 pm

Yeh, I have been working on this for weeks. I think it has something to do with the way Carlson loads on top that is kicking it out. Thanks
bftsurveying
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Oct 26, 2010 5:22 pm
Location: Beaufort, SC

Postby gskelhorn » Thu Oct 28, 2010 5:26 pm

Hey bft, what version are you running?
gskelhorn
 
Posts: 197
Joined: Tue Nov 03, 2009 12:56 am

Postby bftsurveying » Thu Oct 28, 2010 5:33 pm

2010
bftsurveying
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Oct 26, 2010 5:22 pm
Location: Beaufort, SC

Postby gskelhorn » Thu Oct 28, 2010 6:07 pm

bftsurveying wrote:2010


I am using 2011 and it seems to be working for me. The quick tests I have done with 2010 indicate ICAD.LSP is running for each file created or opened here when I put the file in the SUP directory.

My Intellicad version here for 2010 is 6.6.100.3.P.
gskelhorn
 
Posts: 197
Joined: Tue Nov 03, 2009 12:56 am

Next

Return to Survey

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot]