Placing Google Earth Images

Moderator: Carlson Support

Placing Google Earth Images

Postby donna_jwsc » Wed Jan 29, 2014 5:46 pm

I am running Carlson Survey 2014 Embedded AutoCAD. I frequently use Google images in my drawing files. Is there a way to place the Google image in Carlson to correct coordinates? I have opened the Help files and there is a "Place Google Earth Image" topic, but am not finding the command sequence. I have also tried YouTube; nothing related that I can find.
Does anyone know how to bring up the commands shown in the Carlson Help files? If this is not an option in Survey, does anyone know how to rubbersheet in Carlson?
donna_jwsc
 
Posts: 27
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2009 8:18 pm
Location: Hobbs, New Mexico

Re: Placing Google Earth Images

Postby mlbtruth » Sat Mar 01, 2014 3:31 pm

go to the GIS module. then click imagea at the top. then click place google earth image. click select from drawing. then selct the area you want to bring an image onto. then on google earth save the image it brings up. then on carlson follow the prompts.
mlbtruth
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Jun 29, 2012 3:41 pm

Re: Placing Google Earth Images

Postby Gibbo » Wed Mar 05, 2014 5:32 am

Type at the command "google_image" and press enter.

If that works, you're part on your way. Exit that function.

Make sure you have your local or grid system in Drawing Setup sorted before proceeding further though. If this can't be setup (you're working to a arbitrary datum), than you could probably only really place an image by aligning it to known points.

Once setup, enter the google_earth command and follow the choices and steps on-screen (read carefully and you'll have it sorted).

Andrew
Andy Gibson
Brisbane, Australia
Gibbo
 
Posts: 48
Joined: Thu Dec 29, 2011 9:42 am

Re: Placing Google Earth Images

Postby mlbtruth » Fri Mar 07, 2014 3:13 pm

Andrew,
the google_image command works fine. That's what I've been using. I tried the google_earth command, but it is unknown. My trouble is carlson 2013 closing google earth as soon as I import the image into the drawing. Is that an option that you have when you activate the google_earth command?
mlbtruth
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Jun 29, 2012 3:41 pm

Re: Placing Google Earth Images

Postby jbaldeo » Thu Apr 03, 2014 6:59 pm

I believe that Google earth images can only be placed on a drawing that is set in the State plane Coordinate System
JB1
jbaldeo
 
Posts: 49
Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2012 1:45 pm

Re: Placing Google Earth Images

Postby donna_jwsc » Tue Oct 28, 2014 9:10 pm

Thank you for the replies. I never received a notification that anyone replied. I am going to try what has been posted.
donna_jwsc
 
Posts: 27
Joined: Tue Jul 07, 2009 8:18 pm
Location: Hobbs, New Mexico

Re: Placing Google Earth Images

Postby Gibbo » Fri Jan 23, 2015 11:48 pm

Google Earth will close after import yes.
Andy Gibson
Brisbane, Australia
Gibbo
 
Posts: 48
Joined: Thu Dec 29, 2011 9:42 am

Re: Placing Google Earth Images

Postby mcneillbw » Thu Feb 26, 2015 11:08 pm

I have Carlson Survey embedded ACAD 2014 as well. I tried the google_image command and its unknown. I am in State Plane everything we do is. When I go to the GIS menu there is no Image choice on top as one
post suggested. I do have the drawing set to grid and our state plane and zone. Any help would be appreciated Thanks.
Brian McNeill P.L.S.
Project Manager
Northwest GeoDimensions
Wenatchee, WA
mcneillbw
 
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu May 26, 2011 6:49 pm
Location: WENATCHEE WA.


Return to Survey

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: MSN [Bot]

cron