Create a surface (3Dface) from polylines

Moderator: Carlson Support

Create a surface (3Dface) from polylines

Postby tonicuea » Fri May 26, 2017 1:37 pm

I am wondering if CS2017 contains a command that allows me to link single polylines (2d/3D) in order to create a surface that could be save as a TIN (aka DTM).
This command is present in Autocad [_loft]. BUT it creates surfaces that exploded are regions and NOT 3Dfaces ! I remember that many 3D Cad had this simple command, I am surprised CS2017 has not.
I hope in a prompt answer.

:roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll:
tonicuea
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri May 26, 2017 10:26 am
Location: Italy

Re: Create a surface (3Dface) from polylines

Postby Gibbo » Tue May 08, 2018 2:11 pm

You need to do some tutorials. Plenty of info there in help and youtube.
Andy Gibson
Brisbane, Australia
Gibbo
 
Posts: 48
Joined: Thu Dec 29, 2011 9:42 am

Re: Create a surface (3Dface) from polylines

Postby Dent Cermak » Sun May 13, 2018 7:43 pm

When you run Field to Finish you can have it create 2D polys for your plan drawing AND, at the same time, it will create either 3D polys or 3D faces per your selection. Surfaces and be built using either the 3D polys or the 3D faces. Create the surface by inserting the points at their real z value, add your shrink wrap boundary and turn on the layer you created for your breaklines (3D polys or 3D faces). Set your preferences and contour interval and follow the prompts to get your surface and contours. Easy as 1-2-3.
Dent Cermak
 
Posts: 485
Joined: Fri Mar 28, 2008 6:54 pm
Location: Clinton, MS

Re: Create a surface (3Dface) from polylines

Postby Gibbo » Mon May 14, 2018 4:51 am

Absolutely it does. Once again, see the tutorials as I said.
Andy Gibson
Brisbane, Australia
Gibbo
 
Posts: 48
Joined: Thu Dec 29, 2011 9:42 am


Return to Civil

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users