Metric Plan / Profile sheet setup?

Moderator: Carlson Support

Metric Plan / Profile sheet setup?

Postby gskelhorn » Fri Aug 20, 2010 7:03 pm

Hello,

I am new to Carlson. I am working in metric with Carlson 2010 Civil Suite using the Intellicad CAD engine.

I am trying to get myself setup to generate plan/prof drawings in paper space layouts.

I have my drawing setup set to metric with a scale of 1:500 but try as I might I cannot get the plan / prof drawing in the layouts sized correctly.

I am thinking the paper space units should be millimetres and I can get the sheet border block to come in sized correctly for an A1 metric sheet but everything else is plotter too small.

I have tried with the border scaled to metres but that did not work out either.

Does anyone have a beginners guide to Carlson using metric? :?

Thanks,

Greg
gskelhorn

Postby gskelhorn » Sat Aug 21, 2010 11:05 am

This may or may not be useful to someone else so here is my progress to date:

I have scaled my sheet border drawing from millimetres to centimetres and disabled the plot at 1:1 toggle in the sheet setup. Personally, I really find the use of centimetres a distraction.

For my test plots at scale H=1:500 and V=1:50 it seems I simply need to scale everything on the Carlson generated layouts up by 2.0. My model space units are metres and paperspace units are millimetres.

The scale factor 2.0 I am guessing is due to the difference between my sheet scale of 1:500 and the implicit scale between model space and paper space of 1:1000 so I expect I would need to scale everything by 0.5 if my sheet scale was destined to be 1:2000.